Photo Tip – Making a room look bigger

I really like my new wide angle lens (9-18mm). While I was photographing today I realized that if you can get 3 walls of a room into the frame of the photo – it makes the room look bigger. It also gives a better indication how the room feels.

2 walls or 3

3 walls or 2

One thing I discovered, when I first started doing real estate photography – more floor and less ceiling makes a room look bigger. Some times it pays to be shorter. I mostly just crouch down or get on my knees if furniture is not in the way.

too high

lower shot

I will do some samples with furniture in the rooms in the near future. So, stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

